Nebula Awards(R) Awards Menu
Author Emeritus
Grand Master
Service to SFWA

Damon Knight Memorial
Grand Master

The title Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master is bestowed upon a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction and/or fantasy. Nominations for recognition as a Grand Master are made by the president of SFWA; the final selection must be approved by a majority of the SFWA® officers and participating past presidents. While it is not a Nebula Award, the Grand Master honor is conferred as part of the Nebula Awards® Banquet.

Until 2002 the title was simply "Grand Master." In 2002 it was renamed in honor of SFWA's founder, Damon Knight, who died that year.

Fiction by Grand Masters is collected in The SFWA Grand Masters series of anthologies.

The Grand Masters

(The year indicates the year that the honor was presented.)

Robert A. Heinlein (1975)
Jack Williamson (1976)
Clifford D. Simak (1977)
L. Sprague de Camp (1979)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1984)
Arthur C. Clarke (1986)
Isaac Asimov (1987)
Alfred Bester (1988)
Ray Bradbury (1989)
Lester Del Rey (1991)
Frederik Pohl (1993)
Damon Knight (1995)
A. E. Van Vogt (1996)
Jack Vance (1997)
Poul Anderson (1998)
Hal Clement (Harry Stubbs) (1999)
Brian W. Aldiss (2000)
Philip José Farmer (2001)
Ursula K. Le Guin (2003)
Robert Silverberg (2004)
Anne McCaffrey (2005)
Harlan Ellison (2006)
James Gunn (2007)
Michael Moorcock (2008)