Nebula Awards(R)

Andre Norton Award
for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

Thank you for your interest in the Andre Norton YA Award.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc., (SFWA) has created this new literary award to recognize outstanding science fiction and fantasy novels that are written for the young adult market. The award has been named in honor of the late Andre Norton, a SFWA Grand Master and author of more than 100 novels, including the acclaimed Witch World series, many of them for young adult readers. Ms. Norton's work has influenced generations of young people, creating new fans of the fantasy and science fiction genres and setting the standard for excellence in fantasy writing.

The Andre Norton Award for an outstanding young adult science fiction or fantasy book is an annual honor that will first be given in 2006. Nominations will be based on the same process as the SFWA Nebula Awards.® Any book published as a young adult science fiction/fantasy novel will be eligible, including graphic novels with no limit on word length.


Here are some guidelines for publishers (or authors) who would like to "submit" their work for consideration. Note: no formal submission is required. However, there are some things you can do to improve your works chances of being noticed, and thus nominated. (Additional detail about the awards process is given in the Awards FAQ.)

All young adult science fiction or fantasy novels are automatically eligible, upon publication, and can be recommended (nominated) by any active SFWA member. This is the primary means of getting well-regarded work on the ballot. Since the voting is ultimately in the hands of the membership, one of the best ways to improve the chances for your book is to make SFWA members aware of it. Some publishers do this through advertising, some through making free copies available to members (usually upon request), some do nothing or find other ways to bring books to members' attention. If you would like a membership distribution list for sending out copies or offers of copies, I suggest you contact SFWA's Executive Director at execdir(at)

In addition to member nominations, a Norton Award Jury exists to seek out work that might otherwise be overlooked. The jury does not determine the winners or final ballot—but it has the important task of adding books to the final ballot. All publishers are encouraged to submit their books to the jury for consideration. Doing so is entirely optional (though highly recommended) and does not affect eligibility. However, it may improve the chances of your books being noticed. Books are eligible for nomination for twelve months following month of publication. So, as a practical matter, it's better to send them sooner rather than later.

If you would like an address list for the Andre Norton Award Jury, please contact the chair of the jury at norton.jury(at)

Jeffrey A. Carver
SFWA Awards Rules Committee
March 2005.