Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing news
New Andre Norton Award for young adult fiction

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has created a new literary award to recognize outstanding science fiction and fantasy novels that are written for the young adult market. The award has been named in honor of Andre Norton, a SFWA Grand Master and author of more than 100 novels, including the acclaimed Witch World series, many of them for young adult readers. Ms. Norton's work has influenced generations of young people, creating new fans of the fantasy and science fiction genres and setting the standard for excellence in fantasy writing.

The Andre Norton Award for an outstanding young adult science fiction or fantasy book is an annual honor that will first be given in 2006. Nominations will be based on the same process as the SFWA Nebula™ Awards. Any book published as a young adult science fiction/fantasy novel will be eligible, including graphic novels with no limit on word length.

"We are thrilled to honor Ms. Norton with this new award," said Catherine Asaro, President of SFWA. "Many adults today, myself included, were first introduced to science fiction and fantasy through her books and have gone on to become readers, fans, and authors themselves. Andre Norton has done more to promote reading among young adults than anyone can measure."

Publishers may send books to this year's Norton Award jurors for consideration:

Sherwood Smith, Chair
Janni Lee Simner
Jean Rabe
Victoria McManus
Greg van Eekhout
Martha Bartter
Catherine Asaro

Posted February 20, 2005

Back to SFWA News Site

Content copyright © 1995-2005 by SFWA.
Email additions or corrections to