Solstice Award

The Solstice Award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.”

The Solstice Award(s) will be given at the Nebula Awards banquet, May 18th, at the San Jose Hilton.

The 2013 Solstice Award Honorees are Carl Sagan (posthumous) and Ginjer Buchanan.

Previous recipients:


  • Octavia Butler (posthumous)
  • John Clute


  • Alice Sheldon/James Tiptree, Jr.
  • Michael Whelan


  • Tom Doherty
  • Donald A. Wollheim
  • Terri Windling


  • Martin H. Greenberg
  • Kate Wilhelm
  • Algis Budrys