Home > Nebula Awards > Other Awards > Solstice Award

Solstice Award

The Solstice Award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.”

The Solstice Award(s) are  presented at the Nebula Awards.


• Carl Sagan (posthumous)
• Ginjer Buchanan.


  • Octavia Butler (posthumous)
  • John Clute


  • Alice Sheldon/James Tiptree, Jr.
  • Michael Whelan


  • Tom Doherty
  • Donald A. Wollheim
  • Terri Windling


  • Martin H. Greenberg
  • Kate Wilhelm
  • Algis Budrys