SFWA announces 2009 Nebula Awards winners

COCOA BEACH, Fla. – Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America, Inc., has announced the Nebula Awards® winners for 2009.

The Nebula Awards® are voted on, and presented by, active members of SFWA. The awards were announced at the Nebula Awards® Banquet held at the Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront the evening of May 15.

2009 Nebula Award Winners

The Windup Girl – Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books, Sept. 2009)

The Women of Nell Gwynne’s – Kage Baker (Subterranean Press, June 2009)

“Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast,”
Eugie Foster (Interzone, Feb. 2009)

Short Story
“Spar,” Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, Oct. 2009)

Ray Bradbury Award
District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell (Tri-Star, Aug. 2009)

Andre Norton Award
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making,
Catherynne M. Valente (Catherynne M. Valente, June 2009)

Additional Honors
During the ceremonies, Joe Haldeman was honored as the next Damon Knight Grand Master, while Neal Barrett, Jr., was honored as Author Emeritus. Vonda N. McIntyre and Keith Stokes were honored with SFWA Service Awards while the SFWA Solstice Award, bestowed upon individuals who have made a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, was presented to Tom Doherty, Terri Windling and the late Donald A. Wollheim.

About SFWA
Founded in 1965 by the late Damon Knight, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America brings together the most successful and daring writers of speculative fiction throughout the world.

Since its inception, SFWA® has grown in numbers and influence until it is now widely recognized as one of the most effective non-profit writers’ organizations in existence, boasting a membership of approximately 1,500 science fiction and fantasy writers as well as artists, editors and allied professionals. Each year the organization presents the prestigious Nebula Awards® for the year’s best literary and dramatic works of speculative fiction.

12 Responses

  1. Pingback: Cititor SF » Castigatorii Nebula 2010

  2. Pingback: Nebula Awards 2009 « Animal Civilizado

  3. Pingback: Nebula 2010 « Jim Steel's Cave of Doom

  4. Pingback: Stephanie Gunn » Blog Archive » Nebula Awards Winners and Writing in General.

  5. Pingback: Jim Johnson » Blog Archive » 2009 Nebula Awards Announced

  6. Pingback: An Aside | 2009 Nebula Award Winners | A Dribble of Ink

  7. Pingback: Typosphere » Blog Archive » Nebula Awards a Harbringer?

  8. Pingback: Baby Got Books » Friday Links

  9. Pingback: 2010 Nebula Award Winners

  10. Pingback: Neal Barrett Jr.’s Author Emeritus Party « Lawrence Person's Futuramen

  11. Pingback: Discussion: The Nebula & Andre Norton Winners « Jawas Read, Too!