2014 Nebula Awards Nominees Announced

NebulacolorThe Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America are pleased to announce the nominees for the 2014 Nebula Awards (presented 2015), nominees for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and nominees for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.


The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison (Tor)

Trial by Fire, Charles E. Gannon (Baen)

Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu ( ), translated by Ken Liu (Tor)

Coming Home, Jack McDevitt (Ace)

Annihilation, Jeff VanderMeer (FSG Originals; Fourth Estate; HarperCollins Canada)


We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory (Tachyon)

Yesterday’s Kin, Nancy Kress (Tachyon)

“The Regular,” Ken Liu (Upgraded)

“The Mothers of Voorhisville,” Mary Rickert (Tor.com 4/30/14)

Calendrical Regression, Lawrence M. Schoen (NobleFusion)

“Grand Jeté (The Great Leap),” Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer ’14)


“Sleep Walking Now and Then,” Richard Bowes (Tor.com 7/9/14)

“The Magician and Laplace’s Demon,” Tom Crosshill (Clarkesworld 12/14)

“A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i,” Alaya Dawn Johnson (F&SF 7-8/14)

“The Husband Stitch,” Carmen Maria Machado (Granta #129)

“We Are the Cloud,” Sam J. Miller (Lightspeed 9/14)

“The Devil in America,” Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com 4/2/14)

Short Story

“The Breath of War,” Aliette de Bodard (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 3/6/14)

“When It Ends, He Catches Her,” Eugie Foster (Daily Science Fiction 9/26/14)

“The Meeker and the All-Seeing Eye,” Matthew Kressel (Clarkesworld 5/14)

“The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family,” Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous)

“A Stretch of Highway Two Lanes Wide,” Sarah Pinsker (F&SF 3-4/14)

“Jackalope Wives,” Ursula Vernon (Apex 1/7/14)

“The Fisher Queen,” Alyssa Wong (F&SF 5/14)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Written by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Screenplay by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Edge of Tomorrow, Screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie and Jez Butterworth and John-Henry Butterworth (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Interstellar, Written by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan (Paramount Pictures)

The Lego Movie, Screenplay by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller  (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

Unmade, Sarah Rees Brennan (Random House)

Salvage, Alexandra Duncan (Greenwillow)

Love Is the Drug, Alaya Dawn Johnson (Levine)

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future, A.S. King (Little, Brown)

Dirty Wings, Sarah McCarry (St. Martin’s Griffin)

Greenglass House, Kate Milford (Clarion)

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, Leslye Walton (Candlewick)

About the Nebula Awards

The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of SFWA. Voting will open to SFWA Active members on March 1 and close on March 30.  More information is available from http://www.sfwa.org/nebula-awards/how-to-vote/.

About the Nebula Awards Weekend

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 50th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend will be held at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, Illinois, June 4 through 7, 2015. The weekend will include tours and workshops, including workshops on self-publishing and IP law and other legal issues of interest to writers.

The cost to attend is $70, and the Weekend is open to both SFWA members and non-members. For more information, please see http://www.sfwa.org/nebula-awards/nebula-weekend/, or contact Steven H Silver at events@sfwa.org.

28 Responses

  1. sunray

    strongly support THE THREE-BODY PROBLEM by Mr.Liu and u will make unbeliveble benifits from it due to the large Chinese SF market.

  2. dbear

    The three body problem is the best Science Fiction novel I’ve ever seen.
    But I prefer “trianpology” as the name of this book ^o^

    1. Cason

      Me tooooo…. What is The three body problem???? How could he just literally translated that..

  3. Dr. What

    so excited to see cixin liu’s name listed here. it will be great to see him win the best novel prize.

  4. Cai Wentao

    As a Chinese,I have read many sci-fi novels and seen many sci-fi movies from America.
    I hope that The Three-body Problem can get the award.
    So Americans will realize how great progress has been made in sci-fi field of China.

  5. Boyi

    Hope that the three body problems ,a fantastic novel,can be known to more people!

  6. Geraldo Lee

    Three Body is definitely worth to read, but i really worry about if the translation is good enough… btw, the II and III is much better than I.

  7. Jacky Q

    is just the first part of “Three-Body” trilogy. I really hope that the English version of other two parts can be available ASAP in US.

    1. rede

      The Martian was originally published in 2011, and so wouldn’t have been eligible this year.

  8. Matthew Foster Ph.D.

    Ancillary Sword by Leckie and Annihilation by VanderMeer made my 2014 reading list. Both novels deserve nominations.

    Too many tired and unoriginal novels crown this list. McDevitt’s lifetime contributions deserve an award. His rinse & repeat novels don’t warrant a nomination.

    The voting process creates the paradox. SWFA’s 1,600+ members vote. Top six make the nomination list.

    SWFA voting results follow a bell curve or Gaussian. Voters reads some number of books per year. A small population reads 30+ books a year. These overachievers make excellent voters. The opposite side of the spectrum read zero books a year. These folks should abstain. Doubt they do. Repeated nominees with bad novels suggests a low average. Makes sense. SFWA writers are busy people. They read their favorites.

    This is difficult to prove. SFWA member won’t admit reading two books per year.

    Matthew Foster Ph.D