And the Hugo goes to…

Renovation LogoThe Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention. This year’s awards were presented in Reno, Nevada at Renovation, the 69th annual Worldcon. Works that were published in English in 2010 were eligible for the award.


Best Novel

Winner: Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)


  • Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
  • The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)
  • Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit)
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Novella

Winner: The Lifecycle of Software Objects, Ted Chiang (Subterranean)


  • “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window”, Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)
  • “The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon”, Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)
  • “The Sultan of the Clouds”, Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s, September 2010)
  • “Troika”, Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)

Best Novelette

Winner: “The Emperor of Mars”, Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)


  • “Eight Miles”, Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)
  • “The Jaguar House, in Shadow”, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s, July 2010)
  • “Plus or Minus”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, December 2010)
  • “That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made”, Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)

Best Short Story

Winner: “For Want of a Nail”, Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)


  • “Amaryllis”, Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)
  • “Ponies”, Kij Johnson (, November 17, 2010)
  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)

Note: there are only four nominees in this category per the requirement that nominees receive a minimum percentage of nominations.

Best Related Work

Winner: Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)


  • Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001, Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)
  • The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing, Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland)
  • Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve, William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor)
  • Writing Excuses, Season 4, Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells


Best Graphic Story

Winner: Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)


  • Fables: Witches, written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
  • Grandville Mon Amour, Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)
  • Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)
  • The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man, written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner: Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)


  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner)
  • How to Train Your Dragon, screenplay by William Davies, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (DreamWorks)
  • Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; directed by Edgar Wright (Universal)
  • Toy Story 3, screenplay by Michael Arndt; story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; directed by Lee Unkrich (Pixar/Disney)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner: Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)


  • Doctor Who: “A Christmas Carol,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “Vincent and the Doctor,” written by Richard Curtis; directed by Jonny Campbell (BBC Wales)
  • Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury, written by Rachel Bloom; directed by Paul Briganti
  • The Lost Thing, written by Shaun Tan; directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (Passion Pictures)

Best Editor, Short Form

Winner: Sheila Williams


  • John Joseph Adams
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Gordon Van Gelder

Best Editor, Long Form

Winner: Lou Anders


  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • Moshe Feder
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Nick Mamatas
  • Beth Meacham
  • Juliet Ulman

Note: Seven editors appear in this category due to a tie.

Best Professional Artist

Winner: Shaun Tan


  • Daniel Dos Santos
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Stephan Martiniere
  • John Picacio

Best Semiprozine

Winner: Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker


  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong
  • Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine

Winner: The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon


  • Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
  • Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III
  • File 770, edited by Mike Glyer
  • StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer

Winner: Claire Brialey


  • James Bacon
  • Christopher J Garcia
  • James Nicoll
  • Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

Winner: Brad W. Foster


  • Randall Munroe
  • Maurine Starkey
  • Steve Stiles
  • Taral Wayne

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Winner: Lev Grossman


  • Saladin Ahmed
  • Lauren Beukes
  • Larry Correia
  • Dan Wells

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!