Endeavour Awards Finalists

News from the Endeavour Awards:

Four novels and a single-author collection of stories are finalists for the Endeavour Award.  The 2014 Award will be the sixteenth year for the Endeavour, which comes with an honorarium of $1,000.00.  The winner will be announced November 7, 2014, at OryCon, Oregon’s major science fiction convention.

The finalists are: King of Swords by Dave Duncan (47North), Meaning of Luff, a collection of stories by Matthew Hughes (Create Space); Nexus by Ramez Naam (Angry Robot); Protector by C.J. Cherryh (DAW Books); and Requiem by Ken Scholes (Tor Books).

The Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.  All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers.  The five highest scoring books then go to three judges, who are all professional writers or editors from outside of the Pacific Northwest.

The judges for the 2014 Award are Catherine Asaro, Scott Edelman, and Matthew Johnson.

To be eligible for next year’s Endeavour Award, a book — either a novel or a sing4.  The majority of the book must have been written, and the book accepted for publication, while the author was living in the Pacific Northwest (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, or the Yukon.)  Deadline to enter books published during 2014 is February 15, 2015. Full information on entering the Award is available on the Endeavour Web site: www.osfci.org/endeavour.

The Endeavour Award is sponsored by Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (OSFCI), a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.