Home > For Writers > SFWA Committees > Contracts Committee > Model Author Collaboration Agreement, Version 1.0

Model Author Collaboration Agreement, Version 1.0

The following is SFWA’s model Author Collaboration Agreement.

As part of its continuing effort to educate writers about publishing contracts, the Contracts Committee periodically writes new sample contracts and updates old sample contracts. Address comments or suggestions to the Chair, SFWA Contracts Committee at contracts@sfwa.org

The model agreement is based on a collaboration agreement written by writer and filmmaker James A. Conrad. The members of the Contracts Committee who worked on the 2017 revision of the contract were: Michael Capobianco, Jim Fiscus (chair), Ginjer Buchanan, Jeff Hecht, Ken Liu, Rosemary Smith, and Anne Leonard.  SFWA Director-at-Large Lawrence Schoen served as an ex-officio member of the Committee.