Haldeman and Varley Win 2009 Robert A. Heinlein Awards

robert heinleinJoe Haldeman and John Varley are the winners of the Robert A. Heinlein Award for 2009. The Robert A. Heinlein Award is for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings to inspire the human exploration of Space. Winners are selected by a committee of SF authors originally selected by Mrs. Virginia Heinlein and chaired by Robert Heinlein‘s friend Dr. Yoji Kondo.  The award prize consists of a wall plaque certificate, large sterling silver medallion and lapel pin.  The likeness of Robert A. Heinlein, as rendered by Arlin Robbins, is featured on each of these items.

Joe Haldeman maintains his official website at http://home.earthlink.net/~haldeman/

John Varley maintains his official website at http://www.varley.net/

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society provides logistical support for the award and maintains a website where winners are permanently recorded at http://www.bsfs.org/bsfsheinlein.htm

—Dale S. Arnold,
   Assistant to Dr. Kondo.
   Director at Large Baltimore Science Fiction Society.