Shortlist for the 2012 Arthur C. Clarke Award Announced

Six novels have been listed as finalists for the 2012 Arthur C. Clarke Award. They were selected by a panel of judges from works submitted by twenty-five different publishing houses and imprints.

The nominees are:

Greg Bear, Hull Zero Three (Gollancz)
Drew Magary, The End Specialist (Harper Voyager)
China Miéville, Embassytown (Macmillan)
Jane Rogers, The Testament of Jessie Lamb (Sandstone Press)
Charles Stross, Rule 34 (Orbit)
Sheri S.Tepper, The Waters Rising (Gollancz)

Award Director Tom Hunter said:

“Every year the judges for the Clarke Award are tasked first to make their definition of science fiction, and then to define those books they think best showcase the genre. The task of turning sixty books into a shortlist of just six is no simple task, and I hope science fiction readers everywhere will appreciate both the challenge of making the selection and also the challenge any shortlist can make to our preconceived notions of the SF genre having any one simple definition.

“The Clarke Award shortlist this year is, in my opinion, a greatly exciting selection, and one that follows behind two equally exciting prizes I always watch with great interest; the British Science Fiction Association Awards and the Kitschies. Three genre prizes with different backgrounds and different approaches, but when read together can offer a deeply encouraging indication of both the strength and breadth of science fiction literature today.”

The winner will be announced on Wednesday May 2nd. The winner will receive a cheque for £2012.00 and a commemorative engraved bookend.