Andre Norton Award Committee Announced

Andre Norton AwardThe 2013 Andre Norton Award committee has been chosen, and will begin accepting books for consideration.

Eligibility: any Middle Grade or YA novel, anthology, collection or graphic novel first published in English in 2013.

The judges are:

Merrie Haskell (chair)

Christopher Barzak

Jeri Smith-Ready

Corinne Schmidt

Guy Stewart

Cat Rambo

Katherine Sparrow

The committee will consider all submitted young adult and middle grade books until January 31st, 2014. The award will be presented at the 49th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend in San Jose, California.

Editors, agents and authors who wish to submit work for consideration should contact Merrie at

The Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, named to honor prolific science fiction and fantasy author Andre Norton (1912–2005), is a yearly award presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) to the author of an outstanding young adult or middle grade science fiction or fantasy book published in the previous year. The award was established in 2005 by then-SFWA president Catherine Asaro and the first SFWA Young Adult Fiction committee and announced on February 20, 2005. The first Norton Award (for the year 2006) was bestowed during the Nebula Awards ceremonies on May 11–13, 2007.