Sunburst Award: Long List Announced

Sunburst Award logoNews from the Sunburst Awards:

The Sunburst Award Committee released the jury’s selections for the long list for the 2015 awards.


  • Pastoral by Andre Alexis
  • The Broken Hours by Jaqueline Baker
  • The Troop by Nick Cutter
  • Consumed by David Cronenberg
  • Suffer the Children by Craig DiLouie
  • The First Principles of Dreaming by Beth Goobie
  • Head Full of Mountains by Brent Hayward
  • Irregular Verbs by Matthew Johnson
  • The Back of the Turtle by Thomas King
  • Gifts For the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • Cloud by Eric McCormack
  • Knife Fight and Other Struggles by David Nickle
  • Emberton by Peter Norman
  • Lockstep by Karl Schroeder
  • Cycling to Asylum by Su J. Sokol
  • Silence For the Dead by Simone St. James
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  • My Real Children by Jo Walton
  • Echopraxia by Peter Watts
  • Will Starling by Ian Weir



  • Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
  • The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier
  • Gottika by Helaine Becker
  • Tin Star by Cecil Castellucci
  • The Voices in Between by Charlene Challenger
  • Guardian by Natasha Deen
  • Child of a Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica
  • A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey
  • Sophie, In Shadow by Eileen Kernaghan
  • Seven Wild Sisters by Charles de Lint
  • The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
  • The Paper Sword by Robert Priest
  • Zomboy by Richard Scrimger
  • Radiant by Karina Sumner-Smith
  • The Door in the Mountain by Caitlin Sweet
  • Song of the Sword by Ed Willett

Announcements will be made in mid-June for the short list and in the fall for the winners.

The short story award launch, originally scheduled for Fall 2015, will launch in 2016.

The jurors for the 2015 award are S.M. Beiko, Gerard Collins, Paula Johanson, Corey Redekop and Sherryl Vint.

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is an annual award celebrating the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year.

The winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 as well as a medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo.

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction.

For additional information about the Sunburst Award, the nominees and jurors, as well as previous awards, eligibility and the selection process, please visit the website