Finalists for 2017 Compton Crook Award Announced

News from the Baltimore Science Fiction Society:

The following novels are the Finalists for the 2017 Compton Crook Award:

Ninefox Gambit – Yoon Ha Lee, Solaris (June 14, 2016)
Arabella of Mars (the Adventures of Arabella Ashby) –  David H. Levine,  Tor Books (July 12, 2016)
Sword and Verse – Kathy MacMillan,  HarperTeen (January 19, 2016)
Sleeping Giants (The Themis Files)  Sylvain Neuvel, Del Rey (April 26, 2016)
Too Like the Lightning ( Terra Incognia, Book 1)   Ada Palmer, Tor Books (May 10, 2016)
Sleep State Interrupt –  T.C. Weber, See Sharp Press (September 1, 2016)

The winner will receive check for $1000.00 and a commemorative plaque which will be presented on Friday, May 26, 2017, during Balticon 51 Opening Ceremonies. Balticon is the Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention.

The Compton Crook Award is presented by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society for the best first novel in the genre published during the previous year. The Award is named in memory of Towson State College Professor of Natural Sciences Compton Crook, who wrote under the name Stephen Tall, and who died in 1981. The award has been presented since 1983 and is also known as the Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award.

For more information about the Compton Crook Award, please visit

Information on the Baltimore Science Fiction Society and Balticon is available at

Information specifically about Balticon 51 is available at